BAFTA Award winners and losers

The British version of the Oscars - AKA The BAFTAs took place in London on Monday and all the hype was about who would win the big gongs. While James Cameron’s Avatar was in the blue corner, Iraq bomb disposal drama The Hurt Locker was in the realistic corner. Quentin Tarantino’s WWII Inglourious Basterds was in the epic box.

The BAFTAs is the blueprint for the Oscars. Whoever wins at the Brit backslap fest can expect to have 4 fingers on the all important golden statuette Stateside. If this is the case for next month's Oscars (March 7) then the The Hurt Locker is firm favourite after winning BAFTAs for Best Film, Best Director (Kathryn Bigelow), Best Original Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Editing and Best Sound.

Avatar predictably scooped Best SFX and Best Production Design whilst Christoph Waltz picked up Best Supporting Actor for Inglourious Basterds. Other big winners include Colin Firth for Leading Actor for A Single Man and Carey Mulligan for Leading Actress for An Education. Here are all the winners...

Best Film: The Hurt Locker - WINNER! Avatar, An Education, Precious, Up In The Air

Outstanding British Film: Fish Tank - WINNER!, An Education, In The Loop, Moon, Nowhere Boy

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer: Duncan Jones (Moon) - WINNER! Lucy Bailey, Andrew Thompson, Elizabeth Morgan Hemlock, David Pearson (Mugabe And The White African), Eran Creevy (Shifty), Stuart Hazeldine (Exam), Sam Taylor-Wood (Nowhere Boy)

Director: Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker) - WINNER! James Cameron (Avatar), Neill Blomkamp (District 9), Lone Scherfig (An Education), Inglourious Basterds (Quentin Tarantino)

Original Screenplay: Mark Boal (The Hurt Locker) - WINNER!, Jon Lucas, Scott Moore (The Hangover), Inglourious Basterds (Quentin Tarantino), Joel Coen, Ethan Coen (A Serious Man), Bob Peterson, Pete Docter (Up)

Adapted Screenplay: Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner (Up In The Air) - WINNER! Neill Blomkamp, Terri Tatchell (District 9), Nick Hornby (An Education), Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche (In The Loop), Geoffrey Fletcher (Precious)

Film Not In The English Language: A Prophet - WINNER! Broken Embraces, Coco Before Chanel, Let The Right One In, The White Ribbon

Animated Film: Up - WINNER! Coraline, Fantastic Mr Fox

Leading Actor: Colin Firth (A Single Man) - WINNER! Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart), George Clooney (Up In The Air), Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker), Andy Serkis (Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll)

Leading Actress: Carey Mulligan (An Education) - WINNER! Saoirse Ronan (The Lovely Bones), Gabourey Sidibe (Precious), Meryl Streep (Julie & Julia), Audrey Tatou (Coco Before Chanel)

Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds) - WINNER! Alec Baldwin (It's Complicated), Christian McKay (Me And Orson Welles), Alfred Molina (An Education), Stanley Tucci (The Lovely Bones)

Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique (Precious) - WINNER! Anne-Marie Duff (Nowhere Boy), Vera Farmiga (Up In The Air), Anna Kendrick (Up In The Air), Kristin Scott Thomas (Nowhere Boy)

Music: Up - WINNER! Avatar, Crazy Heart, Fantastic Mr Fox, Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll

Cinematography: The Hurt Locker - WINNER! Avatar, District 9, Inglourious Basterds, The Road

Editing: The Hurt Locker - WINNER! Avatar, District 9, Inglourious Basterds, Up In The Air

Production Design: Avatar - WINNER! District 9, Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince, The Imaginarium Of Doctor Parnassus, Inglourious Basterds

Costume Design: The Young Victoria - WINNER! Bright Star, Coco Before Chanel, An Education, A Single Man

Sound: The Hurt Locker - WINNER! Avatar, District 9, Star Trek, Up

Special Visual Effects: Avatar - WINNER! District 9, Harry Potter And The Half Blood Prince, The Hurt Locker, Star Trek

Make Up & Hair: The Young Victoria - WINNER! Coco Before Chanel, An Education, The Imaginarium Of Doctor Parnassus, Nine

Short Animation: Mother Of Many - WINNER! The Gruffalo, The Happy Duckling
Short Film: I Do Air - WINNER! 14, Jade, Mixtape, Off Season
Outstanding Contribution to Cinema: Joe Dunton - WINNER!
The Orange Rising Star Award (voted for by the public): Kristen Stewart - WINNER!, Jesse Eisenberg, Nicholas Hoult, Carey Mulligan, Tahar Rahim

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2021