Ava That!

Ah the Oscars: the industry backslap to end all industry backslaps, a room so full of hubris that even King Canute would be embarrassed. This year was no exception and, seeing as the red carpet holds very little interest to anyone except bored housewives and ravenous paparazzi, it looks like we’re going to have to talk about who won what. How conventional.

Well the biggest headlines of the ceremony were Kathryn Bigelow becoming the first woman to win the Director award for her flick The Hurt Locker, and Sandra Bullock winning her first Oscar for her role in The Blind Side. Amusingly, Bigelow stomped all over her ex-husband James Cameron’s overblown SFX freak show Avatar, scooping six awards to his three, while Bullock offered up the usual mix of false self-deprecation and saccharine thanks-to-mummy schmaltz: ‘Did I really earn this or did I just wear you all down?’, she quipped. You don’t want to read the rest, but you can right here if you want to.

So that’s the Oscars for another year. If you‘re bothered the list of winners is below.

  • Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
  • Director: Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)
  • Best Actor: Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart)
  • Best Actress: Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique (Precious)
  • Adapted Screenplay: Geoffrey Fletcher (Precious)
  • Original Screenplay: Mark Boal (The Hurt Locker)
  • Animated Feature: Up
  • Best Foreign Language Film: El Secreto de Sus Ojos
  • Art Direction: Avatar
  • Cinematography: Avatar
  • Costume Design: The Young Victoria
  • Documentary Feature: The Cove
  • Documentary Short: Music By Prudence
  • Editing: The Hurt Locker
  • Makeup: Star Trek
  • Original Score: Michael Giacchino (Up)
  • Original Song: 'The Weary Kind' (Crazy Heart)
  • Sound Editing: The Hurt Locker
  • Sound Mixing: The Hurt Locker
  • Visual Effects: Avatar
  • Animated Short: Logorama
  • Live Action Short: The New Tenants

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2021